Evidence Group 4 – Professional Development

Evidence Group 4 displays 6.1: Identify and plan professional learning needs, 6.2: Engage in professional learning and improve practice, 6.4: Apply professional learning and improve student learning, 7.1: Meet professional ethics and responsibilities, 7.2: Comply with legislative, administrative, and organisational requirements, 7.4: Engage with professional teaching networks and broader communities.

As a part of my professional responsibilities and legislative requirements, I must complete a minimum of 20 hours of Professional Development per year, as well as mandatory training required by the ACT Education Directorate.

In 2015 I attended a Professional Development course on students with dyslexia. The course consisted of some online components, as well as engagement with other teaching professionals from a range of teaching backgrounds.

I identified a need to extend my knowledge and understanding of students with dyslexia and other reading difficulties when working with a literacy support group. I had been working closely with a year 8 student with dyslexia; she was at a point where refusal to work was her only response to any tasks, regardless of the offered help. I identified that I needed to learn more about dyslexia, and the strategies for supporting students with dyslexia, in order to help this student, as well as the students I knew I would no doubt come across in the future.

This year I have been able to apply this professional learning and improve student learning by utilising some of the strategies from the course. These strategies included a deeper using visuals rather than a heavy reliance on writing and reading, and heavily scaffolding tasks, as seen in Evidence Group 2. My training has given me a deeper understanding of what some of these students must deal with, and therefore a stronger feeling of empathy towards the struggles and successes they experience.

There are a number of online training courses that I have been required to complete in order to understand and meet professional ethics and responsibilities, and comply with legislative requirements. In 2016 this included training in Disability Education, and Mandatory Reporting.

The Disability Education training refreshed my understanding of the legislative requirements I have when working with students with disabilities. Evidence of this practice can also been seen in Evidence Group 1.

While I have never needed to submit a mandatory report on any of my students, it has helped me to identify possible issues and what to do if problems do arise. As I discuss in Evidence Group 5, I reported concerning behaviours to the necessary support people within the school, which has lead to some students getting the support and care they needed.

Certificate for OLT: Dyslexia

Certificate for Disability Standards Training Pt 1

Certificate for Disability Standards Training Pt 2

Leave a Reply

